Top athletes battle it out on UVAS Sports Day

LAHORE:December 10:The University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences (UVAS) Lahore organised its 15th Annual Sports Day in its City Campus sports ground. Big Bird Group Director Dr Abdul Kareem Bhatti inaugurated the event, along with UVAS Vice Chancellor Dr Talat Naseer Pasha. Former UVAS professor of Pharmacology Dr Muhammad Sabir was the chief guest at the prize distribution ceremony. Harassment allegations: Sindh University teacher takes varsity, accuser to court Students from the City Campus, Ravi Campus Pattoki, College of Veterinary and Animal Science Jhang and Khan Bahadar Chaudhry Mushtaq Ahmed College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences in Narowal participated in sports fixtures which continued till late at night. Addressing the inaugural session, Dr Bhatti said UVAS improved its quality of education, research and extension services. He also lauded the discipline of UVAS, especially in the selection of new students on the basis of sports for various degree programmes, and its vital role in the development of veterinary profession under a competent leadership. Speaking at the concluding ceremony, Dr Muhammad Sabir said sports and extracurricular activities were as important as curricular activities for students. He lauded UVAS for promoting healthy activities and traditions for the capacity-building of students. UVAS Vice Chancellor Dr Talat Naseer Pasha presented the vote of thanks and lauded the performance of students who actively participated in sports activities. DVM (Doctor of Veterinary Medicine) student Hamza Aslam and MPhil student Sehrish Saleem were declared the best UVAS athletes for girls and boys, respectively. NAB organises declamation contest Ahmad Rasool from Institute of Biochemistry and Biotechnology won the title of “Mr UVAS”, while third year DVM students and MPhil and PhD students from the girls won general trophies. The Faculty of Veterinary Science (FVS) team won the tug-of-war contest. Dr Muhammad Sabir distributed trophies and medals among the winners of all contests.Published in The Express Tribune,

Add new comment