Annual elections of Punjab University’s ASA held Tuesday

LAHORE:03 April: The annual elections of Punjab University’s Academic Staff Association (ASA) will be held Tuesday (today). Two different groups are taking part in the elections, including Punjab University’s Teachers Front Academic Alliance (TFAA) and PU Teachers’ Alliance. The PU-TFAA has fielded Dr Mahboob Hussain as candidate for President, Shabbir Ahmed Khan for VP Arts, Dr Kamran Mirza for VP Science, Dr Azhar Naeem for Secretary, Naeemullah Chaudhry for Joint Secretary and Munawar Iqbal for Finance Secretary while the Teachers’ Alliance has fielded Dr Asmatullah as president, Dr Shahid Ghazi for VP Science, Dr Islam for VP Arts, Dr Asghar Iqbal for Secretary, Dr Majid Majeed Akbar for joint secretary and Dr Hafiz Muqeet for Treasurer. On Monday, TFAA organised a flag march in various departments headed by Prof Dr Sajid Rashid, Dr Shazia Qureshi, Dr Khalid Mahmood, Dr Fakhrul Haq Noori and Dr Mahboob Hussain. According to some PU teachers, the flag march was unprecedented in the history of ASA elections in which more than 150 teachers participated. Around 700 teachers are eligible to cast their vote in the polls to be held at Waheed Shaheed Hall of Institute of Education and Research between from 8am to 4pm on Tuesday (today).The news.

Add new comment